Conservation Board


From Chapter 21 of the Town of Smithtown Town Code

The Board shall be known as the "Conservation Board of the Town of Smithtown" and shall consist of five (5) members who shall be appointed by the Town Board for terms not exceeding two (2) years. The presiding officer or Chairman of the Board shall be designated by the Town Board, from among the members so appointed to the Board. The Town Board shall have authority to remove any member of said Board so appointed, for cause, after a public hearing if requested. A vacancy shall be filled for the unexpired term in the same manner as an original appointment.

The Conservation Board of the Town of Smithtown shall conduct researches into the land area of the town and shall seek to coordinate the activities of unofficial bodies organized for similar purposes and may advertise, prepare, print and distribute books, maps, charts, plans and pamphlets which, in its judgment, it deems necessary for its work. The Board shall keep an index of all open areas within the Town of Smithtown, with the plan of obtaining information pertinent to proper utilization of such open areas, including lands owned by the state or lands owned by a village within the town or lands owned by the town. The Board shall further keep an index of all open marshlands, swamps and all other wetlands in a like manner and may recommend to the Town Board a program for the better promotion, development or utilization of such areas. The Board shall further keep accurate records of its meetings and actions and shall file an annual report which shall be printed in the annual town report.


Conservation Board meetings are scheduled on an as needed basis.

Meeting - Applications for subdivision - Coffey Estates and  Gyrodyne LLC-  09/16/21 3:30 PM via ZOOM


  • Armand DeRose, Chairman
  • Thomas D. McCarthy, Vice Chairman
  • Louis DiBacco, Member
  • Patricia Manzi, Member
  • Richard S. Macellaro, Member