About Smithtown

Founded in 1665, Smithtown, is a bedroom community situated along Suffolk County's North Shore. The township is comprised of six hamlets; Kings Park, Smithtown, St. James, Nesconset, Commack and Hauppauge (also parts of Fort Salonga, Lake Ronkonkoma) with three incorporated villages (Village of the Branch, Head of the Harbor & Nissequogue) within its borders. Our community is known for its 25 town parks, four state parks and four pristine beaches; Short Beach Long Beach, Kings Park Bluff and Callahan's Beach.

Smithtown prides itself on having one of the top school districts on the island. There are four public school districts in the township, of which two are entirely within the Town borders.

The Town is centrally located along Long Island's north shore, approximately 50 miles from New York City and a half an hour away from the Atlantic Ocean beaches. Commuters enjoy the convenience of three Long Island Rail Road stations within the township with frequent trains running daily to New York Penn Station.

In the last few years downtown revitalization has begun see new life, with the plan to sewer three business districts (Smithtown St James and Kings Park) beginning in Spring of 2019. The Town has 2.1 million square feet of commercial development either pending, approved or nearly completed. Like many towns on long island, the town is looking to keep the younger generations local by focusing residential development on condos and apartments, citing 450 condo projects currently at various stages of development.

The town provides exceptional emergency services including seven volunteer fire departments, two ambulance corps and the 4th precinct of the Suffolk County Police Department.

Our services to residents include animal adoption and control, parks and beaches, recreation, school age childcare, Veterans Assistance; as well as a variety of divisions which take care of our community like The Highway Department, the Department of Environment and Waterways, and Public Safety.