Click to Home

Go To Search
Department of Public Safety
PS patchDivisions
The Department of Public Safety consists of five operating divisions: Fire Prevention, Park Ranger, Investigation, Waterways and Navigation, and Emergency Management. The department is responsible for the uniformed enforcement and security activities within the town. This is accomplished by the various divisions patrolling in a community-oriented fashion. The department serves an area of 54 square miles and a population of over 160,000.

Public Places
Smithtown has approximately 20 miles of shoreline and hosts thousands of parkland acres. Outdoor activities take place in many venues including our: 
  • A municipally owned pool and golf course
  • Two marinas
  • Two state parks
  • Three boat launching ramps
  • Three county parks
  • Five beaches
  • Over 25 town parks

Standards of Professionalism
Ensuring a continuity of government, department operations are conducted around the clock. The Department of Public Safety maintains high standards of professionalism and utilizes modern training methods, vehicles, vessels, and equipment. Please see the Department of Public Safety Brochure for more information.

Accident Reports
To request information, such as accident reports and other private data, please download the Application for Public Access to Records.

Chief John Valentine
Department Director

65 Maple Ave.
Smithtown, NY 11787 

Ph: (631) 360-7553
Fax: (631) 360-7677